NMB48’s Sayaka Yamamoto releases “JOKER” MV

NMB48 member Sayaka Yamamoto has released the MV for her brand new song “JOKER“, the primary promotional track for her upcoming studio album “identity“.

The MV begins with Yamaoto dressed as a tiny man, walking across a messy table inside a mansion. At the end of the table Yamato is dressed a woman, and slowly walks towards the “male” version of herself. The two have some sort of telekinetic battle as objects from the table start to move and shatter as they walk closer together. When they finally cross paths the two halves of Yamamoto embrace and kiss, where they are then turned into playing cards representing each persona, a joker and queen.

identity is Yamamoto’s sophomore studio album following the release of the 2016 hit Rainbow. For identity Yamamoto participated in both writing lyrics and composing music. She collaborated with various iconic musicians including Seiji Kameda and Ikimonogakari member Yoshiki Mizuno. It will be released in the standard two versions, a limited edition CD+DVD and regular CD only. It will hit store shelves nationwide in Japan on October 4th, 2017.

The full JOKER MV, as well as the covers and tracklist for identity can be seen below.




  1. JOKER
  2. Wings
  3. Yume no Koe
  4. Let’s go crazy
  5. Yubikiri
  6. Third man
  7. Doushite Doushite
  8. Aiseyo
  9. Nando Demo
  10. Kassai
  11. Riku no Sakana
  12. Haru wa Mou Sugu
  13. Hotaru (蛍


  1. JOKER (MV)
  2. JOKER (making of)

(via modelpress)

  • Comments

    • yacchaitai

      sounds like something i’ve heard 53 times before

      • Ben_thecoolhobo

        still better than 48 songs

        • yacchaitai

          most things are…

      • guest

        For a second I thought she’s gonna start singing Arashi’s Love Rainbow…

    • Himi Tsu

      I liked her first album so I’m looking forward to this one too :D
      The song is pretty much OKish and the PV is interesting during the first watch but not something I would watch again.

    • Diego

      Her first album was good so I have big hopes for this new album although this song they’ve chosen to promote it is quite generic. I think Sayanee should graduate from NMB48 soon and focus on her solo career. The girl can sing, compose, play guitar and has great stage presence so it’d be better if she tried to get rid of her idol image and sign a contract with a big record label.

    • Sounds like the earlier stuff from Aoi Eir or LiSA. Not bad but also pretty generic at this point.

    • yamakita

      She is my favorite 48, but this song IS generic. Sounds like a B side.

    • Midori

      The covers are really interesting and the PV looked good at first, but it got quite boring after a while with her just walking and singing (wish they had delivered more of the “Alice In Wonderland” aesthetic!). Song is okay.