Winners of the MTV VMAJ 2018 Announced

The winners of this year’s MTV Video Music Awards Japan have been announced! Hoshino Gen topped the awards, winning two trophies. There were also two special awards given out: Daichi Miura won Artist of the Year, while Utada Hikaru’s “Hatsukoi” won Best Album of the Year.

On October 10, the big prize, Best Video of the Year, will be handed out at MTV VMAJ 2018 -THE LIVE-. The Best Video of the Year award will be voted on by viewers online from among the winners of the other regular categories. Voting is now open here and will run until September 25 at noon JST.

Anne-Marie, DEAN FUJIOKA, E-girls, Keyakizaka46, Little Glee Monster, Daichi Miura, Official HIGE DANdism, and SKY-HI will perform at MTV VMAJ 2017 -THE LIVE-.

See who won below!

Best Male Video -Japan-: Yonezu Kenshi – Lemon


Best Male Video -International-: Shawn Mendes – In My Blood


Best Female Video -Japan-: aiko – Straw


Best Female Video -International-: Ariana Grande – No Tears Left to Cry


Best Group Video -Japan-: Keyakizaka46 – Ambivalent


Best Group Video -International-: Bodan Shonen Dan – FAKE LOVE


Best New Artist Video -Japan-: Official HIGE DANdism – No Doubt


Best New Artist Video -International-: Marshmello & Anne-Marie – Friends


Best Rock Video: WANIMA – Human


Best Alternative Video: DEAN FUJIOKA – Echo


Best Pop Video: Hoshino Gen – Idea


Best Hip Hop Video: SKY-HI – Marble




Best Art Direction Video: Hoshino Gen – Idea


Best Cinematography: Little Glee Monster – Sekai wa Anata ni Waraikakete Iru


Best Choreography: E-girls – Show Time