Oricon Creates Its Own Digital Albums Chart

Oricon has long been criticized for not including digital sales in its charts. The company has heard the criticism and took a step into the current day by introducing its own weekly digital albums chart. The chart was created in collaboration with the Recording Industry Association of Japan. It features releases from 35 different record labels, and tallies its sales from four different digital music services (iTunes, Mora, mu-mo, and Recochoku).

It remains to been to be seen if Oricon will create its own weekly digital singles chart, but it would make sense seeing as how most of the music purchases digitally are in the form of single songs.

The first edition of Oricon’s digital albums chart can be seen below! Future editions of the chart will be found in the weekly Oricon charts posts.

1. Utada Hikaru – Fantôme: 6,537

2. JUJU – Snack JUJU ~Yoru no Request~: 5,776

3. RADWIMPS – Kimi no Na wa.: 3,771

4. Ketsumeishi – KETSUNOPOLIS 10: 2,847

5. Yumi Matsutoya – Uchuu Toshokan: 2,238

6. Lady Gaga – Joanne: 2,091

7. Hoshino Gen – YELLOW DANCER: 1,513

8. Hirai Dai – Love is Beautiful: 1,422

9. Alicia Keys – HERE: 1,194

10. Bon Jovi – This House Is Not for Sale: 1,135