Utada Hikaru releases 7th Japanese studio album “Hatsukoi”

Today marks the release of Utada Hikaru’s highly anticipated 7th Japanese studio album “Hatsukoi“!

This is her very first studio album since transferring labels to Epic Records Japan, a sub-label of Sony Music. “Hatsukoi” is one of the many releases to celebrate Utada’s 20 years in the entertainment industry.

A Japanese tour has been announced  to promote the album and further celebrate her anniversary.

In December 1998 Utada made her mark on the scene be releasing her debut single “Automatic/time will tell“. It went on to sell a massive 2 million copies.

“Hatsukoi” contains 12 songs in total, among them are some of her hit digital singles including “Forevermore”, “Oozora de Dakishimete”, and “Play A Love Song”. The full tracklist is a follows:

  1. Play A Love Song
  2. Anata
  3. Hatsukoi
  4. Chikai
  5. Forevermore
  6. Too Proud featuring Jevon
  7. Good Night
  8. Pakuchii no Uta
  9. Nokoriga
  10. Oozora de Dakishimete
  11. Yuunagi
  12. Shittosarerubeki Jinsei

Today a special documentary will also be airing in Japan on the television show M-ON! It focuses on the creation of the title track MV “Hatsukoi”, including in-depth talks with Utada and the director of the MV Yasuhito Tsuge.