The 38th Japan Academy Prize announces its nominees

On January 14, the 38th Japan Academy Prize held its conference to announce its nominees. Okada Junichi was nominated for two of the Grand Prizes for Excellence in Acting: Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role and Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role.

Previously in Johnny’s office, SMAP‘s Kimura Takuya has declined a nomination in 2006 for his performance in “Love and Honor” under Japan Academy Prize. It was due to the agency’s policy that they “don’t participate in this prize race” because “superiority or inferiority should not be attached to a talent”. Furthermore, Okada and Kimura both declined a nomination back in 2007 under Blue Ribbon Awards. (Ikuta Toma accepted and won Blue Ribbon Best Newcomer award in 2011)

This time too, Okada accepted the nomination. At the venue, a statement from the agency was read “Okada has appeared in 20 movies up until now, and it is not an exaggeration to say that he grew as an actor from movies. Okada accepted the award for Hochi Film Awards and Nikkan Sports Movie Awards last year. When the notice from Japan Academy Award Prize was received, his schedule was adjusted so he can attend the ceremony.”

In regards to this, Japan Academy Association’s Secretary General Tomiyama Shogo said that he is very pleased that a new door has opened.

Nominees for the Grand Prize for 15 categories were announced during the conference. The 38th Japan Academy Awards ceremony will be held in Tokyo on February 27 at Grand Prince Hotel and will be broadcasted in NTV. Actor Nishida Toshiyuki and actress Maki Yoko will serve as hosts for the ceremony.

**movie titles used are their English titles / translations

Picture of the Year

  • Eternal Zero
  • Pale Moon
  • The Little House
  • A Samurai Chronicle
  • Cape Nostalgia

Animation of the Year

  • When Marnie Was There
  • Giovanni’s Island
  • Detective Conan The Sniper from Another Dimension
  • BUDDHA2: Tezuka Osamu’s Buddha- The Unending Journey-
  • STAND BY ME Doraemon

Director of the Year

  • Koizumi Takashi (A Samurai Chronicle)
  • Narushima Izuru (Cape Nostalgia)
  • Motoki Katsuhide (Mission Impossible: Samurai)
  • Takashi Yamazaki (Eternal Zero)
  • Yoshida Daihachi (Pale Moon)

Screenplay of the Year:

  • Kato Masato / Abe Teruo (Cape Nostalgia)
  • Dobashi Akihiro (Mission Impossible: Samurai)
  • Hayafune Kaeko (Pale Moon)
  • Takashi Yamazaki / Hayashi Tamio (Eternal Zero)
  • Yamada Yoji / Hiramatsu Emiko (The Little House)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role:

  • Abe Hiroshi (Cape Nostalgia)
  • Okada Junichi (Eternal Zero)
  • Sasaki Kuranosuke (Mission Impossible: Samurai)
  • Nakai Kiichi (Snow On The Blades)
  • Yakusho Koji (A Samurai Chronicle)

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role:

  • Ando Sakura (0.5 mm)
  • Ikewaki Chizuru (The Light Shines Only There)
  • Inoue Mao (The Snow White Murder Case)
  • Nikaido Fumi (My Man)
  • Miyazawa Rie (Paper Moon)
  • Yoshinaga Sayuri (Cape Nostalgia)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role:

  • Abe Hiroshi (Snow On The Blades)
  • Ito Hideaki (WOOD JOB)
  • Okada Junichi (A Samurai Chronicle)
  • Shofukutei Tsurube (Cape Nostalgia)
  • Miura Haruma (Eternal Zero)

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role:

  • Oshima Yuko (Pale Moon)
  • Haru Kuroki (The Little House)
  • Kobayashi Satomi (Pale Moon)
  • Takeuchi Yuko (Cape Nostalgia)
  • Fuji Sumiko (Lady Maiko)

Newcomer of the Year:

  • Kamishiraishi Mone (Lady Maiko)
  • Komatsu Nana (The World of Kanako)
  • Nounen Rena (Hot Road)
  • Ikematsu Sosuke (Pale Moon, Love’s Whirlpool, Our Family)
  • Tosaka Hiroomi (Hot Road)
  • Fukushi Sota (In The Hero, As the God’s Will, Say “I love you”)


(via Model Press, Japan Academy Prize, Daily Sports, Jnewseng)