Winners and Nominees for the 59th Japan Record Awards Announced

Today TBS (the Tokyo Broadcasting System) has published both this year’s set of winners for the Japan Record Awards as well as the nominees for the Song of the Year and Best New Artist categories.  The Japan Record Awards are a Japanese music awards show akin to what the Grammies are in the United States and it can be considered a great honor to be selected for any award on the list below.

Of particular note among this year’s Song of the Year Nominations are Nogizaka46’s “Influencer”, Kiyoshi Hikawa’s “Otoko no Zesshou”, Daichi Miura’s “EXCITE”, and SEKAI NO OWARI’s “RAIN.”  Also worth mentioning is the recipient of this year’s Album of the Year award:  Suchmo’s “THE KIDS”, the break-out release from an up-and-coming young band.

The 59th Japan Record Awards will air on December 30th, which is when we’ll find out who this year’s Best New Artist will be, as well as which of the song nominations will receive the coveted Grand Prix award.  Please read on below for a look at the full list of winners and nominees and a healthy congratulations to each and every one of them.

-’59th Japan Record Awards′ Winners/Nominees-

“Song of the Year” (Grand Prix) Nominations

  • Nogizaka46 – Influencer
  • Daichi Miura – EXCITE
  • Kiyoshi Hikawa – Otoko no Zesshou
  • Hiroshi Miyama – Otoko no Ryuugi
  • Keyakizaka46 – Kaze ni Fukaretemo
  • AI – Kirakira feat. Kanna
  • Kana Nishino – Te wo Tsunagu Riyuu
  • AKB48 – Negaigoto no Mochigusare
  • AAA – LIFE

Best New Artist Nominations

  • Tsubaki Factory
  • Takuya Nakazawa
  • NOBU

Comments from Committee Chairperson Fumihiko Sasomori (Nikkan Sports Shimbun):  The Grand Prix is meant to be bestowed upon a work which is not only strongly supported by the populace, but also possessed of artistic excellence, originality, excellent planning, and is truly reflective of the year in which it wins.  It is an award that is supposed to encompass more than the popularity of an artist or a particular track and also consider how the song in question has reached people of different generations.  The Newcomer Award is designed to recognize an artist whom has both the support of the masses as well as promise for the future.  Though Enka artists often take longer than Pop artists to flourish, we consider them for this award with equal measure.

Album of the Year

  • Suchmos – THE KIDS

Album Excellence Award

  • Keisuke Kuwata – Garakuta
  • Kumiko with Kazamachi Review – deracine
  • Ren Takada – Night Riders’ Blues
  • Hiromi Uehara×Edmar Castaneda – Live In Montreal

Comments from Committee Chairperson Issei Tomizawa (Music Critic):  The works selected for this honor are not able to simply be arranged in order from first to fifth place.  It is actually most analogous to the “Best Nine” awards given to those players whom are best in each specific position in Japanese baseball.  For example, we work to consider albums in such categories as “remarkable sales”, or an act (young or seasoned) demonstrating particular artistic skill, and pick the record which we believe stands strongest among its peers.  From this group of five superb albums (the best in their field), we – the judges – sit down and have a discussion to decide which of them best represents the year.

Japan Composer’s Association Award

  • Konomi Mori

Best Vocalist Award

  • Yoshimi Tendo

Special Award

  • Yuu Aku
  • Namie Amuro
  • Yoko Oginome / Osaka Prefecture Tomioka High School Dance Department “Dancing Hero”
  • Yuzu
  • Akiko Wada

Special Honor Award

  • Miyako Otsuki

Composition Award

  • Katsuhiko Sugiyama (Leo Ieiri – “Zutto, Futari de”)

Verse (Lyrics) Award

  • Hideaki Tokunaga (“Baton”)

Arrangement Award

  • Yasutaka Nakata (Kyary Pamyu Pamyu – “Easter” & “Harajuku Iyahoi”)

Planning Award

  • Yutaro Miura – I’m HOME
  • Hanawa – Otou-san
  • The KanLeeKeeZ – G.S. meets The KanLeeKeeZ
  • Seiko Matsuda – SEIKO JAZZ
  • Beauty & The Beast Original Soundtrack
  • Hiroshi Itsuki – Toru Funamura Tribute Album ~Eien no Funamura Melody~

Achievement Award

  • Yukihiko Itou
  • Ryoutarou Konishi
  • Jun Suzuki
  • Kyouhei Tsutsumi
  • Shouhei Mozu
  • Reiko Yukawa

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Hirooki Ogawa
  • Hiroshi Kamayatsu
  • Jun Kitahara
  • Sone Komei
  • Masaaki Hirao
  • Toru Funamura
  • Peggy Hayama

(via natalie)