Billboard Japan Creates Charts for Streaming and Downloads

Billboard Japan continues to show it’s the more current chart company in Japan by creating new charts for streaming, digital singles, and digital albums. Oricon created its own digital album chart last year and will create its own digital singles chart later this year. Oricon has yet to figure out what to do with streaming.

Billboard Japan was already gathering information for these three new charts, seeing as how all the data is counted towards the Hot 100 chart and the Hot Albums chart. After this week, these three new charts will be included in our weekly Billboard Japan posts.

The Streaming Songs chart will collect data from Apple Music, AWA, Google Play Music, KKBOX, LINE MUSIC, Rakuten Music, and Recochoku via PetitLyrics. The number of streams will not be released though.

The Download Songs and Download Albums charts will gather information from iTunes, amazon, Google Play Music, mora, mu-mo, and Recochoku via Nielsen Music. Sales numbers will not be released though.

These new charts are currently in their second week. This week, DAOKO x Yonezu Kenshi’s “Uchiage Hanabi” tops the Streaming Songs chart, LiSA’s “ASH” tops the Download Songs chart, and Ariana Grande’s “The Best” tops the Download Albums chart.

With that being said, our usual weekly digital singles and streaming charts posts will be retired effective immediately, leaving us with just the Oricon and Billboard Japan posts. The result is a more streamlined system of chart posts. The Oricon chart posts will still be updated in December when they start their digital singles chart.

Streaming Songs

1. [-] DAOKO x Yonezu Kenshi – Uchiage Hanabi

2. [-] Ed Sheeran – Shape of You

3. [-] Mrs. GREEN APPLE – WanteD! WanteD!


5. [-] Taylor Swift – Look What You Made Me Do

6. [↑3] Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee – Despacito (feat. Justin Bieber)

7. [↑1] AAA – LIFE

8. [↓4] Bodan Shonen Dan – DNA

9. [↓2] Nogizaka46 – Itsuka Dekiru Kara Kyou Dekiru

10. [↑5] Ariana Grande – Break Free (feat. Zedd)


Download Songs

1. [↑3] LiSA – ASH

2. [↑1] DAOKO x Yonezu Kenshi – Uchiage Hanabi

3. [NEW] Shiina Ringo – Oishii Kisetsu

4. [↑4] Nogizaka46 – Itsuka Dekiru Kara Kyou Dekiru

5. [↓4] Namie Amuro – Hero

6. [↓4] Leo Ieiri x Ohara Sakurako x Fujiwara Sakura – Koi no Hajimari

7. [↑7] WANIMA – Yatte Miyou

8. [NEW] JUJU – Iiwake

9. [NEW] EXILE TAKAHIRO – Eternal Love

10. [↓4] Hoshino Gen – Family Song


Download Albums

1. [-] Ariana Grande – The Best

2. [NEW] SKY-HI – Marble

3. [↓1] Mr.Children – Mr.Children 1992-2002 Thanksgiving 25

4. [↓1] Mr.Children – Mr.Children 2003-2015 Thanksgiving 25

5. [NEW] Yamamoto Sayaka – identity

6. [NEW] Berry Goodman – SING SING SING 5

7. [NEW] Liam Gallagher – As You Were


9. [↑49] globe – 15YEARS -BEST HIT SELECTION-

10. [↓1] back number – Encore