AKB48 Announces New Unit Dendenmu Chu!

AKB48 has announced that they have formed a new unit with young members from AKB48 and HKT48 called Dendenmu Chu!.

The announcement was made on March 25th in Saitama during their “AKB48 Young Members Zenkoku Tour ~Mirai wa Ima kara Tsukurareru~” Concert. 

Dendenmu Chu! will feature Nana Owada, Mion Mukaichi, Yuiri Murayama, Saya Kawamoto, and Megu Taniguchi from AKB48, as well as Miku Tanaka and Nako Yabuki from HKT48, with 7 members total.

The announcement came suddenly to the members, and Nana Owada has been quoted saying:

” I was so surprised that I got a little emotional and teared up, but the name kind of seems like a joke… (laughs) But I am so happy!”

It was also announced that Dendenmu Chu!’s debut song will be featured as a coupling track to AKB48’s 40th single that is set to be released on May 20th. Tentoumu Chu!’s newest song will also be featured as a coupling track.