Chiba Erii chosen as the new center for AKB48’s upcoming single

During a Youtube livestream on August 6th, AKB48 announced that their 60th single “Hisashiburi no Lip Gloss” will be released on October 19th. The senbatsu lineup for this single will have 16 members, with Chiba Erii as center for the first time.

Erii commented, “Being able to stand in the same spot as many amazing seniors have before me, is already shocking enough. I couldn’t help but shed tears. I’m really excited to be the center for such a milestone like the 60th single. I hope people that don’t know the current AKB48, will give the song a chance and end up liking it. I will do my best to lead the group.”

For this single, members Mogi Shinobu and Sato Airi will be joining senbatsu for the first time.

The 16 senbatsu members chosen for the 60th single are as follows: Chiba Erii (Center), Honda Hitomi, Oguri Yui, Okada Nana, Murayama Yuiri, Yamauchi Mizuki, Omori Maho, Mukaichi Mion, Kashiwagi Yuki, Okabe Rin, Kuranoo Narumi, Sato Airi, Mogi Shinobu, Shitao Miu, Oda Erina, Onishi Momoka