Winners and Nominees for the 61st Japan Record Awards Announced

Today TBS (the Tokyo Broadcasting System) has published both this year’s set of winners for the Japan Record Awards as well as the nominees for the Song of the Year and Best New Artist categories.  The Japan Record Awards are a Japanese music awards show akin to what the Grammy’s are in the United States and it can be considered a great honor to be selected for any award on the list below.

Of particular note among this year’s Song of the Year Nominations are Foorin’s “Paprika”, Nogizaka46’s “Sing Out!”, Kiyoshi Hikawa’s “Daijoubu”, Daichi Miura’s “Katasumi”, and Little Glee Monster’s “ECHO”.  Also worth mentioning is the recipient of this year’s Album of the Year award:  THE YELLOW MONKEY’s “9999”, the band’s first studio album in nearly 20 years and the first since their 2016 reformation.

The 61st Japan Record Awards will air on December 30th, which is when we’ll find out who this year’s Best New Artist will be, as well as which of the song nominations will receive the coveted Grand Prix award.  Please read on below for a look at the full list of winners and nominees and a healthy congratulations to each and every one of them.

-’61st Japan Record Awards′ Winners/Nominees-

“Song of the Year” (Grand Prix) Nominations

  • Little Glee Monster – ECHO
  • Daichi Miura – Katasumi
  • Keyakizaka46 – Kuroi Hitsuji
  • AKB48 – Sustainable
  • Junretsu – Junretsu no Happy Birthday
  • Nogizaka46 – Sing Out!
  • Kiyoshi Hikawa – Daijoubu
  • Hinatazaka46 – Doremisolatido
  • DA PUMP – P.A.R.T.Y. ~Universe Festival~
  • Foorin – Paprika

Best New Artist Nominations

  • Ryouta Kaizou
  • Leon Niihama
  • Ryuusei

Comments from Committee Chairperson Fumihiko Sasomori (Nikkan Sports Shimbun):  The Grand Prix is meant to be bestowed upon a work which is not only strongly supported by the populace, but also possessed of artistic excellence, originality, excellent planning, and is truly reflective of the year in which it wins.  It is an award that is supposed to encompass more than the popularity of an artist or a particular track and also consider how the song in question has reached people of different generations.  The Newcomer Award is designed to recognize an artist whom has both the support of the masses as well as promise for the future.  Though Enka artists often take longer than Pop artists to flourish, we consider them for this award with equal measure.

Album of the Year


Album Excellence Award

  • Eikichi Yazawa – Itsuka, Sono Hi ga Kuru Hi made…
  • Aimyon – Shunkanteki Sixth Sense
  • King Gnu – Sympa
  • Rimi Natsukawa – Churasa Kanasa

Comments from Committee Chairperson Issei Tomizawa (Music Critic):  The works selected for this honor are not able to simply be arranged in order from first to fifth place.  It is actually most analogous to the “Best Nine” awards given to those players whom are best in each specific position in Japanese baseball.  For example, we work to consider albums in such categories as “remarkable sales”, or an act (young or seasoned) demonstrating particular artistic skill, and pick the record which we believe stands strongest among its peers.  From this group of five superb albums (the best in their field), we – the judges – sit down and have a discussion to decide which of them best represents the year.

Special Award

  • Masaki Suda
  • Mariya Takeuchi
  • Kenshi Yonezu

Best Vocalist Award

  • Yukino Ichikawa

Composition Award

  • Takafumi Iwasaki (Kiyoshi Hikawa – “Genkai Toppa×Survivor”)

Verse (Lyrics) Award

  • Shinichi Ishihara (Takeshi Matsubara – “Saihoku Cinema” / Yukino Ichikawa – “Yuki Renge”)

Arrangement Award

  • Takuya Ohashi, Shintarou Tokita (Sukima Switch – “Seishun”)

Planning Award

  • Hiroko Moriguchi – GUNDAM SONG COVERS
  • Kaho Takada – Daikoukai 2020 ~Koi yori Suki ja, Dame desuka? ver.~
  • Naomi Chiaki – Bigin
  • Ran Itou – My Bouquet
  • Jaejoong – Love Covers
  • Golden Bomber – Reiwa

Japan Composer’s Association Award

  • Midori Oka

Achievement Award

  • Katsuko Kanai
  • Mari Sono
  • Munetaka Hakamada
  • Billy BanBan

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Mieko Arima
  • Yuuya Uchida
  • Kazuya Senke
  • Kenichi Hagiwara

(via natalie)